Sunday, March 31, 2013

Star Star

One of the final tracks recorded at 1972's "Goat's Head Soup" sessions, 'Star Star' created a furore with Atlantic Records President Ahmet Ertegun. Starfucker, the song's original title, hit too close to the belt for his liking and Ertegun insisted it was retitled on the album's sleeve to 'Star Star'. The tune told the story of the young girls whose choice of men are rock and movie stars. To the sound of Keith Richard's rowdy Chuck Berry riffing, Mick Jagger sings of a groupie "giving head to Steve McQueen", betting that she'll "get John Wayne before he dies". 

Final mixing and overdubbing of 'Star Star' took place during May-June 1973 at Island Studios, London. The music itself is basically the definitive rip-off of a Chuck Berry song that has never been written. Keith Richards' R&B riff is Berry lead guitar at its best. Mick Taylor plays the rhythm track, and Ian Stewart once again is a natural on piano.

Adapted from the following sources:
Steve Appleford, The Rolling Stones: The Stories Behind The Biggest Songs, Carlton Books Limited, 2010.
Martin Elliott, The Rolling Stones: Complete Recording Sessions 1962-2002, Cherry Red Books, 2002.

1 comment:

  1. May 28-June 20, 1973: Island Recording Studios, London, England.
    The Rolling Stones: Silver Train (Jagger-Richards) (4:27)
    The Rolling Stones: 100 Years Ago (Jagger-Richards) (4:06)
    The Rolling Stones: Angie (Jagger-Richards) (4:31)
    Keith Richards: Ending it with Jimmy Miller
    Jimmy Miller went in a lion and came out a lamb. We wore him out completely. Jimmy was great, but the more successful he became the more he got like Brian. He ended up carving swastikas into the wooden console at Island Studios. It took him three months to carve a swastika. Meanwhile, Mick and I finished up Goats Head Soup.

    The Rolling Stones: Can You Hear The Music (Jagger-Richards) (5:31)
    The Rolling Stones: Criss Cross Man (Jagger-Richards) (4:22)
    The Rolling Stones: Dancing With Mr. D. (Jagger-Richards) (4:51)
    The Rolling Stones: Coming Down Again (Jagger-Richards) (5:54)
    The Rolling Stones: Star Star (Jagger-Richards) (4:25)
    Mick Jagger: Star Star
    I suppose we ask for it if we record things like Star Star. Christ, I don't do these things intentionally. I just wrote it. If girls can do that, I can certainly write about it, because it's what I see.

    730428A 28th May onwards: London, Island Recording Studios. Mixing and overdubbing for the album ‘Goat’s Head Soup’ (partially without Keith Richards). Producer: Jimmy Miller. Sound engineer: Andy Johns (with Howard Kilgour). Incl.
    - Silver Train (Jagger-Richards) - Ian Stewart on piano, Jimmy Miller on percussion
    - 100 Years Ago (Jagger-Richards) - Nicky Hopkins on piano, Billy Preston on clavinet, Jimmy Miller on percussion
    - Angie (Jagger-Richards) - Nicky Hopkins on piano, strings arranged by Nicky Harrison
    - Can You Hear The Music (Jagger-Richards) - Jim Horn on flute, Nicky Hopkins on piano, Rebop on congas, Jimmy Miller and Pascal on percussion
    - Criss Cross Man (Jagger-Richards) - Bobby Keys on sax; aka ‘Save Me’
    - Dancing With Mr. D. (Jagger-Richards) - Nicky Hopkins on piano, Billy Preston on clavinet, Pascal on percussion, Rebop on congas
    - Coming Down Again (Jagger-Richards) - Bobby Keys and Jim Horn on saxes, Nicky Hopkins on piano, Jimmy Miller on percussion
    - Star Star (Jagger-Richards) - Ian Stewart on piano and percussion, Bobby Keys on sax.

    Line-up: Mick Jagger (voc, gtr, harm)/Keith Richards (gtr, bass, voc, bvoc)/Mick Taylor (gtr, bass, bvoc)/Bill Wyman (bass)/Charlie Watts (dr).
    Additional musicians: Ian Stewart, Nicky Hopkins, Billy Preston, Bobby Keys, Jim Horn, Rebop, Pascal, Ray Cooper, Jim Price, Nicky Harrison, Chuck Finley and Jimmy Miller.